The African custom of wrapping children on the

Image

The African custom of wrapping children on the mother’s back is widely used around the Continent and the world There are various cloths used for this tradition including the Kanga The Origin of the Kanga is greatly debated but many say the Cloth comes from East Africa This Cloth, like many other African Cloths has many uses but one of the most intriguing is the child carrier The cloth is wrapped around the child and the torso of the parent Many African Women try to avoid going over their shoulder with the cloth instead holding the baby lower down on the body
This gives them a lot more freedom to maneuver around and makes it easier to perform their daily duties The Other day I had the pleasure of speaking to an elderly women and she dropped plenty of jewels on me Im sure many of us have seen African women carrying children on their back wrapped in cloth Well I was informed that this practice symbolizes parents understanding the pain of their children and children the pain of parents It is through this understanding that each can become one I think that’s dope I remember when I was little my mom would always have me wrapped up on her back while she cooked or maneuvered around the house
I didn’t realize it back then but looking back that definitely gives me even more respect for her Being on her back made me not only feel loved but extremely safe as well I always knew that I had the ultimate protector right next to me These days I see some of our women using strollers for their child but I really don’t think they carry the same effect The love of being on your mother back simply isn’t there The stroller, unfortunately is one of the many effects of colonization I think it’s great that some of our Women still hold on to Africa traditional style of carrying children It’s part of who we are and where we come from We are African Never Forget That
Leave a Reply

